Sunday Roundup

So  I went for sushi yesterday with Lissa to a new restaurant recommended by a woman I met at the swim lessons for Hunter, and while she was right, it was -excellent- food, I fear that Liss and I are just not as high brow as that place. I knew we were a bit out of our water when I ordered my normal coke with the meal and was informed that they don’t serve soda. It was some awesome sushi though. Incredibly tasty and something that we’ll do again for sure but I think next time we’ll bring our own soda.

However, even though I had a lovely afternoon with her and have a hoop sitting in my living room that is telling me to practice so I can you know, even keep it -up- for more than ten seconds (yes I have fallen for the hooping spell, I want to loose weight people), and I should be mentioning about how it wasn’t really a shiner after all but the start of a sinus or eye infection in the baby..I am going to do something that I think I shall repeat every sunday, to start including a bit of the politics I have mentioned in this blog.

So here are the issues that have been on my mind this week.

The potential appointee for the state board of education in Texas

This should be an obvious reason of why it’s on my mind. This woman is and I say this with unvarnished honesty and intent..a fucking nutjob. She believes public education to be unconstitutional, is concerned that Obama will be setting martial law any moment thinks that the government should be run with a ‘God Litmus test’ and my Governor  the very one who thinks that Texas needs to..or maybe should succeed from the union is thinking of appointing her to the head of the state board of education. I can not -tell- you how much as a parent that this woman scares the hell out of me. I am seriously considering moving from here if she gets the job. Hell with the political atmosphere that is running through my state now (her supporters call us ‘the pagan left’) I don’t care if there is some validity of her arguements to the constitutionalism of public education her being appointed to that position constitutes a conflict of interest and she should be publicly standing up and sayin that she should not be considered nor would she accept.

Because that would be the honest and honorable thing to do. She could work on legislation to get it abolished, she could lead a movement to take it down but to be appointed to it’s -head-? Completely unethical. And scary. Lord is it ever -scary-.

The Attorney General talking about prosecuting the Bush Administration

This is my biggest issue with the Obama Administration. The fact that he spoke of accountability and transperency and has back slid on all of it. I don’t get the ‘I don’t want to look back’ mentality. I think that this man broke the law, betrayed the american people and our consititution and the people and him should be held accountable. I think for us to redeem ourselves for any of the things that has occured under our watch in the past 8 years we -have- to do this. So that people see that we are not ignoring it and we are not condoning it. Please prosecute them! I completely support any effort to bring real consequence for crimes to our political arena. It’s high time that we are not the only ones held accountable to the law!

Michael Moore had it right in Sicko

A high ranking member of CIGNA says that they made a costly and concentrated effort to disabuse the truth that was potrayed in the movie Sicko, that the health care in other countries that is run by the government is working and well handled.

“We shouldn’t fear government involvement in our health care system. There is an appropriate role for government, and it’s been proven in the countries that were in that movie.”

He admitts that the insurance companies put profit infront of people and that investors look at actual health care as a ‘medical loss ratio’ and reward lack of ‘medical loss ratio’ and find any growth as in any actual -health care for insured patients- as ridiculous and unwanted. People this is the freaking reason why we -need- regulation and governmental intervention in health care. Preforming -actual health care- on paitents shouldn’t be a detriment to the system! It is the purpose and it is absolutely -neccessary-. Because what happens if the investors see a raise in medical loss ratio? they demand it is lowered and -you don’t get health care- because of that. That? is ridiculous. Not the fact that sick people get help..the fact that some investors believe that sick people getting help cuts their bottom line.

I can not expound on how much the mentality involved in that situation. It is disgusting and absolutely something that I am passionate about seeing change in.

Alright I think that’s enough soap boxing for one morning. I think I shall go make some coffee and a bowl of rice chex and watch some Rachel Maddow and knit. Maybe then I’ll calm down. I doubt it though.

Leave a Reply

