Summer time kitchen

I was incredibly dumb lastnight and stayed up way too late. I am paying for this right now.  However a lot of that was more horrifying “morning sickness” that left me hanging over the edge of the toilet praying for a coma for two weeks.

I have decided now that there just comes a point where you have to suck it up and live with it. There’s nothing I can do about it, getting upset and moody about it does no good and it just keeps going on. So I am just gonna man up and deal. Doesn’t mean I’ll leave my house more or post more when it’s going on, just means I won’t cry into the side of the toilet bowl any more.

And speaking of the throne, I hate to type the words and jinx myself but we’ve had 4 days and counting without an accident in the underwear. It’s getting better, I still have to remind him every hour and a half, but now he’s starting to realize when he has to go and sometimes I catch him going on his own. It’s progress..-good- progress and gives me a lot of hope.

Of course as I was typing this he comes out with a new pair of underwear..I was about to kick my own butt for the whole jinxing thing, but come to find out he had tried to do it standing up and managed to spray his former pants. So whew..still technically not an accident!

Today, even though I’m exhausted I have a lot of cooking I want to get out of the way. First I’m going to make another batch of my greek pasta salad, and then I’m going to make a batch of my grandma’s summer squash and tomato casserole. I might even make a batch of brownies after that if I feel up to it.

So I’ll go ahead and leave you all with the rough recipes for the dishes and get started on it.

Greek Pasta Salad

1 bag of spiral or twisty pasta.

1 cucumber

1 tomato

1 package of feta cheese

Salad dressing of your choice, I recommend greek or italian of course.

Boil and cook the noodles, chop up the veggies and feta  mix it in with the noodles, coat with your dressing and serve. I didn’t say these were complicated hard or very imaginative recipes did I?

Grandma’s Summer Squash and Tomato Casserole

3-4 Yellow Squash

3-4 tomatoes

1 good sized onions

Shredded cheese as much as you like

Olive oil

Salt and Pepper

Cut up the tomatoes and squash into bite sized pieces, cut up the onion and do that as well. Then pour about 1-2 tblsp of olive oil in with a good amount of salt and pepper..stir up throughly. Add the cheese..stirring or just laying on the top however you prefer. Put in the oven at 350 for 30-40 min or till the squash and tomatos are cooked and cheese is melted.

So that’s the plan for today. Enjoy your wensday..

1 Comment »

  1. 1
    Jeffiner Says:

    Rock on! And here I was going to ask about that Greek Pasta Salad…
    My new fav is Lazy Momma’s Bruschetta:
    -French bread
    -Tomato (whatever is on sale!)
    -REAL mozarella (the kind packed in liquid)
    -Fresh basil leaves
    -Balsamic vinegar

    Slice tomato and mozarella and layer with a basil leaf on a slice of French bread. Drizzle with balsamic vinegar. SO YUMMY! Or as my sister does, cut everything up into bite sized pieces and make it into a little salad.

    Glad to hear TT is doing better!


RSS Feed for this entry

Leave a Reply

